A participation trophy is the reward given to anyone who participates in any competition regardless of the quality of their performiance. It has been debated that mere participation should not b rewarded \and that only exceptional performance should be rewarded. What is your opinion on this matter?

I agree that mere participation should not be rewarded and that only exceptional performance should be rewarded. However, some awards should be given to those who participated in the contest but did not win. In my opinion, everyone who participated in the competition had to train hard and they hoped to win a prize. So, they deserve something in return. Firstly, all contestants have to rehearsed hard to compete. All those who participated in the competition hoped that they would win and get a trophy. Therefore, they try to do their best. For this reason, I think every competition should reward all participants such as certificates, small gifts, etc. That was to console them that they performed well but there might just be someone who did better than them. Secondly, Trophies are best suited to the person who performs the best. As mentioned above, everyone is training hard to compete. But the one who wins the competition deserves only one trophy. That is because the person may have tried more or was really proficient in that field. In the competition, these people may perform with the least error. So, they won and got trophies. It was like praising them that they were doing great. I feel that those who only participate in the competition deserve something in return. It is because they had to practice for the show as well. The one who performed the best was the winner. They should only receive trophies in that competition.