A new law makes it illegal for employers to reject applications based on age. Do you think it is positive or negative?

In the past, hiring process used to ask for candidates from certain age group only. There are still some government jobs which clearly mention age requirement of 18-35 years only. A new law puts restriction on employers for having age criteria on job posting. Some may argue such restriction may not be in favor of employers. In my personal opinion this law will bring positive change in the workforce. Currently, many companies follow standard hierarchy based structure which requires you to have certain number of years of experience. Some young dynamic candidates who even though possess the right skills, find it hard to climb up corporate ladder. Instead it is proven many times in recent studies that if a company is more diversified and inclusive, it have better chance of generating good financial results and overall employee satisfaction. Hiring right people for the right job proves to be more positive than just focusing on number of years of experience or age. Besides, there are people who loves to be programmers even at age of 60 and there are young graduate who possess very good managerial skill. Providing equal opportunity in employment also boosts ethical score of the company. There are two side of each coin, and in this case also we see that why some companies believe otherwise. In multi-tiered organizations, many roles requires extensive industry experience so companies need to hire experienced or more mature person for this position. For example, subject matter expert roles or production manager need to be really experts in their area and just having the right skill is not enough. These roles have importance in company functions and do require industry exposure. It is understandable that employer feels restricted by the law to not put limit on such positions. After all they also need to make profit to keep running the organization. Overall, I believe positives of this law outweighs negatives. If applied correctly, company can in fact benefit from promoting diversified work culture and may attract more people wanting to join their company which ultimately brings growth and prosperity.