Last year PrepUp had record enrollment in their test prep courses, but yearly profits fell by nearly 30 percent. To the contrary, TopPreparation had comparable enrollment to the year be fore, with profits rising by approximately 20 percent. This discrepan

In this argument, the author claims that PrepUP will propose online test prep course in the following year with the hope of profit. To bolster his standing, the author cites some pieces of evidence. Although the argument seems logical at a first glance, it has been flawed with some unwarranted assumptions that need to be justified. Firstly, the argument based on the reference that the yearly profit of PrepUp(PU) has been curtailed by nearly 30 percent last year while the profit of TopPreparation (TP) has been augmented by approximately 20 percent in the previous year. However, the author did not mention any number of enrolled persons; Thus, how could the arguer compare between those percents with the ignorance of the number of individuals who enrolled PU, as well as TP, is same or not. It seems that there remains an urge of knowing the answers; In the absence of these, the argument still remains skeptical. Secondly, the author explains about the teaching method of both PU and TP; It tells that PU costs much higher than TP due to the following reasons: Offline live classes, costly house rent, teaching pieces of equipment such as white-board, laptops, projector, giant screen and so on. On the other hand, the overhead cost of TP seems lower because it executes online classes. But, the argument flawed with the proof that the salary of the teachers, who gave online lectures may be greater than the teachers of PU. Thirdly, it tells that the online enrollment of TP has been increased by 50 percent whether the total enrollment was constant; However, this information hardly adequate for considering the argument as a fact until it discloses its initial value. For example, it can happen that initially, the total enrollment was 500; The persons, who took live classes, numbers 400 on the contrary, online attendants are 100. So, the rise of 50 percent online enrollment could not assure that the majority are running towards TP. To recapitulate, the number of unsupported assumptions, in the previous sections, questions about the validity of the argument. Unless these are properly addressed with citing some veritable proof, the argument will still be fallacious.