Have North Americans become too dependent on the automobile for travel?

Over the last few decades, as environmental awareness has increased, cars have become a very controversial topic. I am of the opinion that people have become too reliant on automobiles. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, I feel that many people have become disinterested in the amount of pollution that their personal vehicles create. It is a well-known fact that automobiles are one of the biggest sources of deadly greenhouse gases, which are the main cause of global warming. However, it seems that many people simply do not care about how much pollution they create by driving their cars. For example, my uncle drives an extremely large sport utility vehicle to work every day, even though he commutes alone. His vehicle is not energy efficient, and he ought to use public transportation or at least carpool to work. When I asked him why he continues to drive such a harmful, vehicle he responded that even though he is aware of how much fuel it uses, he does not care because of how happy he feels driving an expensive car. This example demonstrates how neglectful many members of modern society have become as a result of their dependence on automobiles. Furthermore, our current obsession with automobiles has resulted in neglected and ineffective public transportation systems in cities all over the world. As a result of people who are obsessed with their personal vehicles, governments have felt justified in failing to develop bus and rail networks in their urban centers. My city, Toronto, is a good example of this. Despite being the largest city in Canada it has only two subway lines and just a handful of underdeveloped bus routes. While this frustrates me quite a lot, most people simply do not care and the issue is never considered by our municipal government. It seems evident that our current dependence on automobiles has resulted in a lower quality of living for many people in Toronto. In conclusion, I strongly believe that people in modern society are too dependent on automobiles. This is because our love of cars has contributed to global warming, and because it has resulted in under-funded and poorly developed public transportation systems in major cities.