A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problem if it is not well managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think the benefits of tourism outweighs its drawbacks?

The influx of tourists has been the main source of income in many tourist destinations. However, these travellers can also cause serious issues if not properly managed. This essay will demonstrate how tourism positively impacts the economy of a country and how it can also negatively affect the natural resources. Whilst acknowledging that there are benefits, the essay will argue that the drawback of tourism outweighs its benefits. There are two main advantages of Leisure Industry. First, a strong tourism can lead to more business opportunities for local entrepreneurs due to a huge number of travellers coming for holidays. The increased number of vacationers have resulted to a higher demand for accommodation and food businesses. For example, In Palawan Philippines, many local people are starting their own accommodation businesses like AirBnb, bed and breakfast, or hostels to house tourists that are visiting their province. In addition, the demand for more accommodation businesses have also resulted to more job opportunities for local residents, particularly those that are coming from poor families as many of them greatly depend on agriculture as their main source of income. Because of the boom in tourism, local people can also have the chance to have other sources of income which can also help them to uplift their standard of living. On the other hand, the main disadvantage of tourism is the destruction of natural environment due to negligence of some people. The arrival of many visitors in tourist destinations can put the natural environment at risk because of irresponsible travelling of some vacationers. For Instance, tourists flock to Boracay Island in the Philippines as it was named one of the most beautiful beaches in the world due to its pristine white sand. However, some tourists made irresponsible actions such as recklessly throwing garbage or cigarette butts in the sand which has resulted to the sand’s discoloration. As a result of this carelessness, the government decided to shut down the in order for it to be rehabilitated. In conclusion, although mass tourism can result to more job and business opportunities to its local residents and entrepreneurs, it also has an adverse impact to the natural resources if not properly managed. Hence, this can also lead to the loss of many jobs and businesses that can negatively impact the economy. Therefore, the negative drawback of tourism outweighs the benefits.