A journey once you have took

I still remember one particular journey I went on when I was about 16 years old, with my relative. We travelled by personal car and the thing that I remember most was the amazing scenery which was quite different from where we used to live. I couldn’t really remember seeing big mountains before that trip, but the ones I saw were so huge and steep that I recall being seriously impressed by them. I also saw some amazing rivers running down through the mountains and I can remember there was a waterfall, with the water cascading down the side of one of the mountains, and I also saw a lot of animals that you wouldn’t normally see living in a city. It was a short-day trip, I seem to remember it took most of the day, although we stopped every now and then to take a break and have something to eat before continuing. I remember that for a lot of the time I just sat in the car and my face was like pushed up to the window just watching all these things go past as we travelled along the road. Every time I thought I had seen the tallest mountain – we would go round the next bend in the road and there was an even taller mountain right in front. As we went up the mountain road you could see right down into the valley below and I remember feeling a little afraid because I thought if the car fell off the road then we would drop all the way down to the bottom – it was a long way down. It’s funny thinking about it now. I guess that particular journey was important for me because it was the first time I really remember seeing really different landscape from the normal things I would see where I grew up – so it was really impressive and I can still remember the colours and the different smells in the air as we drove along the road.