A few major languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

These days, that the prevalence of international languages renders minority languages obsolete has sparked considerable public debate. Although this trend is not without merits, its drawbacks justify them. There are a multitude of manifest advantages of this phenomena to the societies. First, since the number of people using global language such as English and Chinese has been increased, communication between human in different parts of the world will be more effective than ever. For example, if only a few languages are spoken, there will be no language barrier, which facilitates the way people exchange information and travel to other countries, by extension, reduces the need for interpretation and translation. Moreover, the increase in usage of global languages is also conducive to trading as it helps international companies connect to their partners and expand their business around the world. That means, more career opportunities would be created as a business opens factory in other places, which enhances the living standard of the locals. Nevertheless, under no circumstances should the demerits of this trend be marginalized. First, because a language represents culture of a nation, if one language disappears, a whole way of life will also vanish with it, leading to the loss of cultural diversity that makes societies more interesting. Not to mention, the domination of global languages is also to blame for the rise of language discrimination throughout the world. Consequently, some individuals may hold a linguistic prejudice against someone due to their use of language, and this may eventually result in unfair treatments in some extent. Examples may be clearly seen in the workplace and in education systems, where victims’ well-being, self-esteem, self-worth, and social relations are often severely impacted by discriminators. In conclusion, although the domination of some international languages does have some tangible benefits, these pale into insignificance when compared with the drawbacks. By protecting mother languages, governments can preserve the value of national culture and alleviate the consequences of linguicism for society.