A country has to spend a lot amount of money to host international sports events such as the Olympic Games or the World Cup. Some believe that this is a waste of money while others think the opposite.

While it is often argued by some people that the government's expenditure on international sports events is such a waste, others take this view that it is reasonable to spend. My opinion is that the latter point can provide the country with more benefits. Some hold the opinion that the international sports events should not be held. The most compelling reason for believing this is that some citizens hope the government subsidies for the other sectors such as heath care, education, and so on. For example, although it is not a significant factor for a developed country like Singapore, it could be a problem for a developing country like Myanmar. Despite the above arguments, I am of the view that it is worth spending money for vibrant and intriguing sports. Indeed, one reason why I take this position is that it is a great opportunity to foster national pride so that international investors, athletes and visitors are able to view the characteristics of the host country. For instance, Southeast Asia countries such as Thailand, Vietnam host hold SEA Games every four year. By doing this, they can promote their local food, natural substances in terms of traditions and cultures. Those countries find it very beneficial to establish the popularity and economic growth. In conclusion, while both views are commonly held in society, I believe that it cannot be called as wasting money as long as it is spent for the right place. Given this situation, it is vital that we acknowledge better opportunities and consequences for one's land.