A better means to reduce air pollution is by increasing the price of petrol,

It is commonly said that a panacea to decrease pollution is by increasing the cost of Petrol. I completely disagree with the opinion that is the cause for pollution but there are other factors which need to be considered. There are people who think that by increasing the price of petrol, air pollution can be controlled. They think so because if the price of the liquified petroleum is increased then many people will limit the usage of vehicles, which will have a drastic decline in the number of vehicles, and this will be a panacea to reduce air pollution. But, even if the price of petrol increases there are many people who are capable of purchasing this liquid at a higher price in order to satiate their convenience. So an increase in petrol price will not be a tenable solution. On the other hand, measures like creating awareness and by promoting other public mediums of transport then there will be a dramatic change in the air pollution level. If people become aware of the consequences of the burning more fuels in vehicles then they will reduce of the usage of the vehicles. In the mean time initiatives should be taken to increase the other modes of public transport like buses, trains and trams so that people can conveniently travel to their destinations without any inconveniences. Along with this measures should be taken to reduce the gas emissions made by factories to the atmosphere, as this is also a huge cause of air pollution. To conclude, a hike in price of petrol cannot decrease the level of air pollution as people prefer convenience over cost. A proper measure will be to create awareness among people as well as proving alternative convenient means of public transport.