7. Some people think that money must be spent on promoting the use of bicycles in cities while others think cities must spend on public transport

One of the controversial issues today is whether several people argue that in many circles of developing countries that funds ought to be consumed to assist in the usage of cycles in cities which can have a positive impact on the health of citizens as well as on the environment, while there are others who are with the view that finances ought to be spent on public transport. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion. Generally speaking, there is a wide range of reasons why people believe that bicycles are a better option for cities. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favor of this idea is that riding a bicycle for work reduces dependency on other transport modes such as bus, car, or motorbike. Therefore, it will reduce the demand for fuel-consuming vehicles on the roads, as the results carbon footprint, global warming, and air pollution would be reduced to a great extent. For instance, France and Belgium are famous for their city bicycle riding paths. Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that public transport can be advantageous. The main reason why people think that this is a good idea is that it is impossible to go everywhere by bicycle. We need a good public transport system to reach the far away and difficult places, usually when there are good and efficient public transport system people would not use their own or private vehicles. For example, forty people can be accommodated on a bus without any problem, whereas for forty cars we need more space. Investing in public transport is really valued development. Most of the developed countries successfully used this strategy to ease traffic jams in major towns. To conclude, both arguments have their merits. In my humble opinion, public transport is one of the important aspects of transport and traveling whose funding cannot be overlooked.