23. To find out about a course subject, would you prefer to go and ask a teacher about it, or talk to a student who has already taken the subject?

University education is important to an individual, as well as to national development. Certain demography believes that undergraduates should apply themselves to courses they prefer, while others want them to study only future-relevant subjects. Although, this essay will discuss both views, I believe that university students should be given the opportunity to choose their line of career. Firstly, freedom of choice is significant in this part of the world. Therefore, allowing people to choose their university course will give them a sense of accomplishment, thereby increasing their level of responsibility; which in turn result to them upholding the code and ethics of their profession. For instance, Fela Anikulapo-Kuti was an accomplished musician who founded the afro-beat genre, whereas, he was admitted into the university as a Law student at the behest of his father. In summary, graduates feel more successful when they finished from course they choose by themselves. Contrary opinions have their reason being futuristic in nature. They believe in sustainable development in science and technology. The advocates of this view believe that more university students studying relevant courses will result in more innovation in such areas. For example, the success of man’s landing on the moon was not possible until the United States government established a tertiary institution that is solely responsible for the teaching and research in space and aeronautic engineering. In conclusion, while it is important to plan for the future, and to encourage students to promote national development, I believe they should be free to make their choices when it comes to choosing university courses.