23. Should education and health care be free of charge and funded by governments or should it be responsible of the people for these service. Discuss with the example.

It is undeniable that education and healthcare services are fundamental need of human being, and they also play a crucial role in the economic development of every country around the world. However, it is debatable who should assume the cost of the education and healthcare – the government or the society. In my view, basic education and standard healthcare should be financed by the government and further on these should be paid by the citizens themselves. To commence with, an access to education and medical facilities is a core of human rights, hence the authorities should be responsible for providing free learning and medical care for their people, especially people in need. It is because, first and foremost, education is important not only to create job opportunities, but also to create highly-skilled workforce, so it would eliminate the poverty. Second, a healthy nation would contribute to the economic growth of the country, mainly because people will become more productive if they are in a perfect condition of health. Last, the most important reason, the expense of primary education and health services is normally cheap and possible for even emerging countries to manage fund for providing free schools and medical aids. Take for an instance of the actions which are taken by the authorities in my country, they allocate a budget to subsidize the fee of basic public health and education. As a result, there has been an increase in the number of children graduating from high schools and an improvement in the health index. On the contrary, providing higher educations and advanced medical treatments without any charge for all citizens might be difficult for every country. The main reason is that it requires the government to reserve a big amount of the budget. Then, moreover, it will also be a burden on society to pay higher taxes, because the majority of state revenue is from the tax payers – the society itself. Finally, people will be more responsible for their own health, if they have to pay for the advanced medical aid. To recapitulate, the access to educations and medical facilities is essential for people. It leads to a healthier and more educated nation that has an important impact on monetary condition of every country. However, I believe the authorities are only responsible for financing primary education and medical aid, and further on these would be the responsibility of the society.