2. Describe a time when you experienced a breakdown in communication due to lack of clarity or purposefulness of your, or someone else’s, verbal or nonverbal symbols. What did you learn from this experience?

Each region has its own words which only local people can understand what it means. Take the word “pineapple” as an example. In the South, we call pineapples “trái thơm” but in the North, they call “dứa”. Therefore, the first time I visited Ha Noi located in the North, I have experienced a breakdown in communication. When I was 10 years old, my family traveled to Ha Noi in the summer; therefore, the weather was extremely hot. After visiting tourist attractions and taking lots of photos in the center of Ha Noi, we had lunch in a cosy restaurant which has characteristics of ancient Ha Noi’s architecture. As soon as the waiter brought us our meals, I asked him to bring me a spoon. However, he could not understand what I mean because I said “muỗng” which is used in the South. At that moment, I did not know how to make him understand. I tried to look around and pointed at the spoon in another customer’s hand who was sitting behind my back. Fortunately, the waiter finally could understand.