137) High schools should allow students to study the courses that students want to study. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Educational system has significantly improved during the last century by introducing a great variety of fields. While some consider that high school students should study pr-established courses, others believe that scholars should have the chance to opt for what they want. I agree with the latter opinion, due to the fact that students can focus on what they are interested in, and and because it prevents from wasting time. I will explain my statement in detail, in the following essay. First and foremost, students should focus on domains they are passionate about, because these can be decisive for their future. Adults say that pupils are not aware or they do not know what is good for them, but by that age most know what domains are attractive for them. Moreover, forcing scholars to take useless classes is not a wise idea, as they will not accord too much attention to them. Furthermore, their grades might be lower, and consequently their chances to enter a prestigious university decrease considerably. For instance, I had to study Latin, a dead language, for five years. What this brought to me? Well, absolutely nothing. After spending five years studying it, I was not able to speak it and nor were my colleagues, and consequently all of us had low grades. As a result, our final results were reduced by the bad marks. To continue with, learning about irrelevant things is a totally waste of time, both for teachers and for students. In other words, teachers are disappointed when they notice that students show no interest in their work, and students do not add anything to their know-how. In addition, some classes require skills and talents, but unfortunately there are scholars who do not owe them. My experience is a compelling example of this. Back in middle school, I had to study painting and music, and I soon realized that I had no talent. I struggled a lot during this time and I hoped not to study them ever again. Sadly, my high school schedule included both of them, and even though I talk with the principle and explain her that I am not gifted at arts, she rejected my request to choose alternative courses. Thus, I had to spend eight years and hundreds of hours on learning things that I could not excel in. To summarize, high school pupils should definitely be allowed to select their classes. This is because they have the opportunity to elect beneficial domains for their future and because it is a way to avoid loosing time on unrelated fields.