1.The availability of cheap air travel is giving more and more ordinary people the opportunity to travel worldwide. Environmentalists claim that this is leading to global warming. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write at least 250 words.

Traditionally it is believed worthwhile keeping certain old buildings. For example, many castles around the world are of great historical interest, because they symbolize a specific epoch. Besides, it is claimed that older constructions need to be kept for nostalgic reasons, as they are evocative of another era like 19 century wooden houses in the central part of Moscow. Although I understand the arguments about saving certain buildings as a national heritage, I cannot fully agree with them. In my opinion, some older structures are overrated and a lot of money is spent on maintaining them. In contrast, new buildings are generally cheaper to build and to take care of. It means that it is more economical for a city budget to replace older buildings with modern ones. For instance, on Myastitskaya street in Moscow almost all 19 century houses more demolished and contemporary office buildings were erected. Another reason why modern structures seem more reasonable to me is that older buildings are not practical to work and live in. For example, instead of cramped rooms and low ceilings in 19 century buildings there could be specious and airy apartments with huge glass walls instead of windows. In other words, the living standard may be drastically improved in some urban residential areas. To sum up, this subject is rather controversial, but I strongly believe that the construction of modern buildings is more worthwhile than maintain older ones. From my standpoint, it is economically viable and sensible.