Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taugh to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Encouraging a sense of competition in children have its own advantages and disadvantages. The first time they develop this is when they engage in games, and their reactions upon receiving a win or a loss should be closely monitored by the parents. For example, being the winner may be a positive reinforcement to boost their drive to accomplish something again, or it may also make them complacent and too proud. On the other hand, losing in a particular child’s play may harness feelings of inadequacy and injure their self-worth, or it may be a definite reason to try harder and get better next time. The surrounding adults, especially the parents, have a pivotal role in guiding children on enriching their competitive side as well as the dangers of mediocrity, overachievement, and attaching their self-esteem to contests. What about children who are trained to cooperate than compete? As others would believe, have greater potential to contribute as adults in the future. This is because every industry requires the principal skill of collaborating with people of different specializations to achieve their overall vision. A healthy competition is welcome as long as there is mutual respect and understanding; otherwise, it may be detrimental to the individual, the companies, and organizations. Competition based on the intent of beating the opponent tend to harbor negative emotions and may cost more than the reward; but competition on the grounds of refining one’s abilities to become the best in a particular craft have higher chances of receiving opportunities in the future. I reckon that collaboration is the most important skill that should be augmented during childhood, because this stage of life is where most of our personality traits and habits are formed. The most successful leaders are followed, respected, and revered because of their ability to work with and not against people. It they are able to work together at an early age to attain a common goal, the chances of creating a positive ripple effect are higher for future generations.