Advertisements are everywhere affecting our lives. Discuss the subject

Nowadays, it is a well known fact that advertisements are gaining more and more popularity among the world. In this point proponents of this view claim that ads do not affect people’s lives while competitors believe that people are being affected by ads. In my view people can be easily affected By ads for various reasons. To begin with, people especially youngsters are being all the more exposed to ads that showing off a glamorous and luxurious lifestyle which is a far cry from reality. However, people are perpetually compare themselves with this glamorous lifestyle and they end up feeling worthless and suffering from mental disorders, such as depression. Additionally, ads showcase distorted images of beauty. This practice not only underestimate the roles and personality of the two genders, but also lead young people to eating disorders in order to reach these standards and even to suicidal tendencies. Secondly, it is undeniable that media play a main role in our lives as we are unable to escape from them. For instance are not constrained only in television but also in radio, in our mobile phones and in digital hoards and posters on streets. This means that we are being exposed to implicit and explicit messages in every aspect of our live. What is more by the constant brainwash from media we are treated as potential Byers and thus can turn a person into over consumer who is being obsessed with material world with lack of critical thinking. Taking everything into account, social media influence people’s lives a great deal. It is vital so that people try to resist against these messages and become critical thinking