The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

Smoking in public areas is something that we have all seen. What would happen if this was to be banned? In this essay I am going to discuss few positives and negatives of this. First let us look at the benefits this is going to have. Looking at it from the social angle, the non-smoking population which includes children outnumbers the smoking population and hence majority of the people would be happy and in support of this. Smoking not only affects the health of the person who smokes, but also of the people around that person who breathe that air. Hence, banning smoking in all the public areas would save many non-smokers from this situation. Moreover, young kids are very observant and tend to pick up habits from older people around them. Exposing them to smoking at such young age might make them think that it is normal and not wrong, which inturn might lead them to trying it themselves. However, by banning smoking in public areas we can avoid this. But this also has some negetives. Due to the restriction imposed on smoking in public areas, most of the places like theatres, restaurants, malls etc have the threat of becoming less customer-friendly which inturn might result in widespread economic loss. Moreover, some people say that considering the technological advancements of the present day, children have access to almost everything on the internet and smoking is not something new to them. Hence, banning it in public areas would not bring the difference most of us are expecting. In conclusion, I would like to say that banning smoking from all public spaces might not be the best idea. Instead, every public space should have some smoking zones where people can smoke. By doing so, we are not taking away the freedom of such people and the same time making the public areas less polluted and children-friendly.