Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic on whether or not universities must accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject is deemed a pivotal question in gender and development studies. Discussions and arguments on equal representation and how we can account the representation of women has been increasing through time, especially movements on equality is becoming more and more mainstreamed around the world. Indeed, there is a huge improvement and small but noticeable victories on the part of advocates who strive to place women on the decision-making table in a variety of fields. One of the UN's Sustainable Development Goals is to achieve gender equality through its integration in all development plans, policies, programs, and activities. And such is fitting to be applied into the academe as female representation will produce a more enriching, diverse, and dynamic discussions in every subject. Of course, one must take into consideration that there is still the "freedom of choice" by every individual to take part in a subject he/she may find interesting, but universities must open themselves and take a more encouraging approach to harness inclusivity. In a rapidly developing world, I agree and support universities who are now taking the path towards equal gender representation to achieve the balance of perspectives among men and women. Doing so will lessen outdated biases, will broaden more minds to seemingly minor issues and concerns that require further deliberation, and empower more women to speak with confidence based on their experiences and how they are forming and formed by their culture and community. Addressing underrepresentation would tell us that academic institutions are on the right direction in serving their purpose and preserving their integrity.