In certain countries, there is a direct correlation between the number of shootings and the number of privately owned guns. People thus feel owning guns should be restricted. Where do you stand on this issue?

It is observed that the number of shootings in certain countries is directly proportional to the number of privately owned guns. Therefore, it is argued that owning guns should be restricted. As far as I am concerned, I believe that gun restriction will reduce the number of shootings and is necessary. Some may say that privately owned guns act as a weapon for owners to protect themselves in dangerous and unavoidable conditions. However, when everyone does not have guns privately the level of safety within the area will be enhanced and situations which citizens may need gun for self defence will be extremely rare. When citizens are relatively safe, why will they need guns? Apart from the necessaries of owning private guns, the security of citizens outweighs the goods of allowing private ownership of guns. It is ideal that owners would use their guns wisely without causing trouble. However, when gun owners who are human and may go through emotional upheavals, they may lose the ability to control their emotions and make wise decisions. As a result, bullets will be shot to the innocent, causing social chaos. For examples, headlines about criminals shooting in supermarkets and schools with guns causing death and injured are not uncommon in the USA. Therefore, gun restriction is required to safeguard the safety of citizens in certain countries. To summarise, the level of safety is believed to be improved when the gun restriction is imposed. Furthermore, there is no doubt that the personal safety of citizens is of paramount importance. Therefore, owning guns should definitely be restricted. I believe that the total of shootings will be reduced and so as the victims.