1. Chevening is looking for individuals with strong professional relationship-building skills, who will engage with the Chevening community and influence and lead others in their chosen profession. Please explain how you build and maintain relationships in a professional capacity, using clear examples of how you currently do this, and outline how you hope to use these skills in the future. (minimum word count: 100 words; maximum word count: 500 words)

“Nothing reinforces a professional relationship more than enjoying success with someone” Harold Ramis said. No one can deny the power of a relationship, contributing to the success of humans. It would seem that there are 3 key factors to build and maintain a strong professional relationship, It is essential to UNDERSTAND our partners. Some personal questions may reveal the character of the partner and it is easy to understand him/her working styles. Furthermore, it is also a channel to keep in touch with the partner. For instant, beside discussing about works, I have spent some minutes talking to the partner about daily life topics including weather, trend, cuisine, fashion topic. Especially in the pandemic, COVID- 19 is a controversial topic. Those topics not only help me understand more about the partner’s character but also bring the concerned-feeling to the partner which lead to more close-knit. Apart from understanding, EXCHANGING is also considered as a tool for building and maintaining a relationship in professional capacity. In the investment filed, updating the latest information in terms of laws and other news is one of key factors to achieve success. When the Investment law 2020 was issued, my partners and I discussed and gave the update information frequently. We have shared all information about online seminars, business matching events, statistic of Foreign Direct Investment bilaterally. As importantly, during my working period, I consider SUPPORTING being a crucial character to build and maintain that relationship. Working in an investment promotion agency requires staff to consult the investors or collect the investment related information. My partner and I always ask for support in terms of investment procedure, provincial investment incentives, courtesy calls arrangement, challenges of investors. If Vietnamese agency calls on any supports from Thailand, I will be responsible to assist. With the rapid development, Vietnam in the forthcoming will be a hub of industry, there will be more and more investors staring eyes to this country. Especially, when the pandemic is under the control, Vietnam will welcome foreign investors doing investment research. It extremely needs to build new professional relationship and maintain the inherent ones. It should adapt the USE form (Understanding, Supporting, Exchanging) to build the new relationship with foreign investors, colleges to promote and do business in Vietnam.