08 11 2017 Some people think that if a country is already rich any addition in economic wealth does not make its citizens happier

Many aver the happiness of citizens of a developed country will not increase even if state’s economic wealth keeps growing steadily. I agree with this prospect and below the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details. Firstly, if the results of economic growth are shared equally among folks, the feeling of joyfulness may not be affected by the additional gain because the standards of living in the country are already high and alterations in the quality of life are not seen as important or even desirable. To illustrate, a person is paid three thousand dollars per month and he spends monthly ten hundred dollars on living; consequently, the additional increase in his salary will mean that more money will be put on a bank account. Secondly, those who inhabit prosperous countries frequently have had all needed conditions for having a decent life since they had been born. Interestingly, psychological and sociological studies that were conducted in Germany, Spain, Italy, Norway, France and Japan indicate the majority of citizens in those states are unhappy; moreover, the researchers manage to demonstrate that an economic growth does not lead to feeling joy. The scientists speculate the absence of a necessity to fight for resources and to struggle to achieve goals makes lives of the interviewees purposeless and meaningless; those emotions create unhappiness. Finally, in some rich countries, the results of an economic success are not distributed among people fairly. Sometimes, the additional resources are being focused in hands and pockets of a small group of elite and this situation creates a chasm between the wealthy and the rest of the population; and those who do get nothing become unhappy and dissatisfied. The current political situation in the UK and the USA with regular riots and protests may exemplify this claim nicely. In my opinion, growing wealth in already rich country will not make people happier but could fill their lives with discontent and negative feelings, in particular, if the results of the growth are not allocated equally among citizens