Youth in shopping malls

hese days, young generation are spending most of their free time in shopping malls to do shopping or spending time with their friends. This trend brings negative influences on the youth, and as well as on the society. I am completely agree with this statement. At the individual level, there are various negative impacts of this trend. First of all, the young generation not only wasting their time but also spending huge amount of money in shopping complex. For instance, youngsters tend to buy useless and unwanted products that end up never using them. They try to purchase branded clothing and other accessories in order to impress their friends that leads negative effects on their mates that who are unable to afford these goods. Besides, when young generation meet up with their friends, they might adopt bad habits such as smoking, drinking and stealing. As we can see that this trend has tremendous negative effects. This trend not only brings detrimental effects on individual but also on the society. When the young generation spends more time in shopping plaza, they would have less time for education and physical activities. For example, a study conducted in British health institute showed that the youth who spend more time in shopping centres has suffered with cardiac diseases because they are eating unhealthy food that lead to obesity. As a result, health system would have to spend more money to treat such problems. Furthermore, they are not learning new skills and not involving in creative activities thus the society would have more uneducated people and unskilled workforce. As we all know a healthy society needs educated and healthy people in order to become a developed nation. In conclusion, spending-leisure time in mall has detrimental effects on the youngsters and the society. In my perspective the youngsters should spend less time in galleries and more time in learning new skills, reading books and creative activities.