Youth crime is an urgent problem that needs to be addressed. Discuss the reasons for such a pressing issue and suggest possible solutions.

In recent times, the rate of young offenders has been on the rise globally. Although there is a myriad of factors contributing to this problem leading to negative consequences, practical solutions can be adopted to help overcome it. The primary reason contributing to the swell in criminal activity around the world is the increasing drug abuse among many youths. A lot of cities suffer from the phenomenon of binge drinking by teenagers who lose control under the influence of alcohol or drugs and commit crimes. For instance, it is a common sight on the streets of Britain to see fights breaking out outside pubs and clubs. Similarly, it is a common occurrence for these addicts to resort to petty theft in order to pay for their habit. Another major cause for juvenile delinquency is school truancy. Many young children drop out of school searching for a job to help their impoverished families. This inevitably leads them to illegal means to earn money. However, there is a variety of potential ways to combat this problem. Firstly, governments and local authorities should work relentlessly to ensure that all youngsters are regularly attending their schools. In fact, a recent study in the USA has concluded that students who managed to obtain their high school degree were less likely to engage in any criminal activity compared to those who could not finish their high school studies. Secondly, the government needs a much stricter system of penalties and punishments to deter young people from leading a criminal life. Finally, more behavioural rehabilitation centres for youngsters convicted by law should be established. In conclusion, criminal activity by young adults is a soaring global problem, mainly caused by drug addiction and lack of education. However, these factors are not insurmountable if authorities consider educating the young more effectively and impose stricter laws.