44. Some people believe that developing countries should concentrate on improving industrial skills whereas others argue that these countries should promote education first. Discuss the both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether developing countries should focus on enhancing industrial skills or education. While there are some benefits of improving working skills, I would argue that education should be the top priority of these nations. There are several reasons why industrial skills should be improved. Firstly, since developing countries often lack workers with specialized ability, the governments of these countries should invest more in training and enhancing working skills to provide sufficient work force. For example, in Vietnam, there are currently very few people who work in the automobile manufacturing industry, so it is necessary to increase the number of workers in this field. Secondly, when workers’ practical skills are improved, the productivity of factories would be enhanced. As a result, more goods with higher qualities would be produced, which generates more money for the whole nation. However, I believe promoting education would lead to a more stable growth for developing countries. The first reason is that since education provides basic knowledge for people, it is likely to assist in the development of other industries. For instance, education can help scientists to come up with new technologies, which allows workers to produce modern devices such as smart phones. The second benefit of improving the education system is that this would produce good citizens. Being well educated, people would be more likely to have good behavior such as obeying the law, and this contributes to the development of the entire society. If inadequate attention is paid to education, the growth of countries will only be short-term. In conclusion, I think developing countries should concentrate more on enhancing education because it will bring about stable and long-term development.