young students should take summer work program

In recent decades, applying for a job or participating in voluntary programmes has been encouraged among university students. However, there are some benefits and drawbacks that should be taken into consideration before reaching the decision. Thus, some positive and negative aspects will be analyzed in this essay. On the one hand, there are two major advantages when having summer jobs. Firstly, working helps developing soft skills. Indeed, at schools, most students are being educated with academic knowledge, which can be irrelevant when dealing with situations in daily life. Thus, by taking a summer job, students are able to have precious experience in tackling customers and developing interpersonal skills. Besides, by taking part in a work program, students have more opportunities to communicating and creating more relationships, especially for students who are pursuing in having their own start-up. Different from friendships at school, these relationships can be beneficial for students’ future careers or the normal relationship may lead to cooperation in the future. On the other hand, there is a significant drawback that needs to be considered depends on students’ situations. Firstly, students can be overload with study and work, In fact, having part-time jobs means the students need to be at their workplace for a certain period, thus, they may not have enough time to finish their school assignments or can be stressed from both hectic schedules at work and studies. For instance, this situation usually happens among overseas students because they need to pay for their living expenses such as accommodation. Moreover, due to the language barrier, those students have to make more effort than native students. Thus, when taking jobs while studying, many have been overwhelmed and under pressure and have to abandon their study process. In conclusion, despite having both benefits and drawbacks, for some students who can balance their study and work, taking part in the work programme is an ideal decision for them due to all the reasons that have been mentioned above.