More and more young people go abroad for higher studies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In number of nations, students have a tendency of moving overseas to acquire higher education. In spite of several drawbacks of this development, it is my firm belief that its benefits could outweigh the downsides. To begin with, studying abroad can lead to some demerits. One of them is that the changes in the environment can result in students’ culture shock which act as a kind of major difficulties during their time in those countries. In particular, students may face homesickness as well as the barriers to adapt to new society. Additionally, financial problems that many students have to shoulder are not easy to deal with. Another disadvantage is language barriers which cause a variety of obstacles to young people who do not have a stable base of language. There are lots of merits of pursuing higher studies in foreign countries. Initially, having chance to experience new educational system is beneficial for students to challenge themselves and widen their knowledge. That is to say, they can obtain new lessons and expand their perspective, which they can not have unless they have this opportunity. Moreover, young people can build sense of independence. In other words, living far away from families means that they need to arrange things themselves, namely managing their time, budget and self-care. Finally, their horizons could be widen significantly. Once moving overseas, scholars can make new friends and create wider networks. For instance, once a Asian student study in a Western country, he could have chance to be friends of students from not only nations from the West but also in those African ones, which therefore bring him into zones with lots of view-alike scholars. In conclusion, it seems to me that the choice of studying abroad could have both positive and negative aspects. It is worth considering as the benefits it brings about could eclipse its disadvantages.