Young people today are often less polite and show less respect than previous generations. Why do you think this is? What can be done to solve this problem? rybm

People have always thought highly of elderly, but the situation seems to be undergoing sweeping changes, when previous respect gets substituted with neglect. I believe there are several ways to explain the source of this problem, alongside with remedies that can be taken in order to tackle it. We live in the world that bears little resemblance to the one previous generations got to grow up in. Technological advancement, new philosophical doctrines and entertainment area that now has reached its pinnacle of success; all these alterations nurture the so-called generation Z, people who were born in 21st century. Those who got to grow up earlier find it difficult to keep up with the pace of life, what creates a yawning gap between generations. What aggravates the issue is the denial of elderly to accept the changes and get in tune with up-to-date trends. Media, too, exacerbates the situation, for it plays with the feeling of nostalgia, making previous generations pine for “good old times” and reprimand younger generation, what triggers the feeling of anger in the latter one. Little by little, however, we can bridge this gap. If TV and radio, which are the most popular media among elderly, start friendly endorsing the acceptance of changes and stop brainwashing their audience, the dialogue between generations may be established. Organising social platforms where both elderly and youth communicate and no agism is tolerated is also an option. Other way of dealing with this problem is governmental agenda to promote events and institutions where all generations cooperate. In Germany, for example, there are special houses where many generations can live, helping each other whenever they can. To sum up, media and technological illiteracy detach the elderly from the world where youngsters live, which contributes to the tension between them, thus no respect is possible. I think that in order to build up the feeling of respect towards seniors, channels of communication must exist, and there are several ways to establish it.