Some people say that in our modern age, it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting.

With the technological progress people seem to abandon their old habits and activities, and handwriting does not serve as an exception. It is argued that this skill can be rendered obsolete, for it no longer has a niche in our world. I strongly disagree with this statement and in this essay I will attempt to defend my point of view. Literacy and handwriting skills have always been an integral part of studies, and only well-educated individuals were able to hone these skills later in their lives. But with the emergence of computers and tablets people seem to forget how essential it is, to write with their own hands, for typing on the computer or using voice recorder are both time and energy-efficient. Nevertheless, I believe that handwriting is crucial in developing fine motor skills, and these skills are not restricted to writing. Cutting things with scissors or a knife, knitting, working with materials, catching and throwing things are all examples of using these skills and they are inextricably connected to handwriting, for it is the first stage of mastering these. That is why a person not knowing how to hold a pen is unlikely to function as a useful member of society. Additionally, it has been scientifically proven that the lobes of our brain do not evolve separately and building up physical strength, for instance, contributes to cognitive skill training. That is why fine motor skills development is paramount, for it enables other functions. In modern schools it has become a widely known practice to have variety of classes where different activities are exercised, for example, gymnastics, calligraphy and knitting, and their graduates seem to show better academic achievement that those studying the old way. To sum up, handwriting, even though many consider it pointless, has one too many benefits that are vitally important in both education process and later in life.