There are many female students who finish degrees in science and technology courses at university, but few move into the workplace after they graduate. Why is this? What measures can be taken to encourage them into work?

Gender issues is now a touchy subject, and statistics show how dire the disparity between men and women is, especially when considering the employment patterns in the sphere of science and technology. Even though now the situation in education seems to look up, women appear to face troubles afterwards, when their career is supposed to start. There is a reason for such a phenomenon and few remedies to it too. Nowadays, when battle of sexes is allegedly in the past and women are no longer seen as a weaker sex and a household tool, the problem of female employment in science and technology perpetuates. Younger women, for example, are taken as future mothers, and their possible employers prefer not to risk having a female worker going on maternal leave right away. In their eyes it is much safer to hire an older woman, or a male counterpart. Female employment rate in Russia seems to be a case in point. The solution for such a matter might be tax incentives implemented by government. Having it imposed on science and technology connected workplaces, this will ensure that a sufficient number of female graduates is employed and no sexism is tolerated. In movie industry, for example, there is a minority rate that opens the door for many people that face discrimination in the sphere of entertainment. Also, if a direct connection between workplaces and educational institutions is established, all graduates can no longer face the dreadful fear of being unemployed. This approach, however, can only work when both of the above-mentioned measures are taken. In conclusion, the employment methods in the field of science and technology need a radical overhaul, for women are still mistrusted there. Measures taken by government, on the other hand, can solve this problem, making it possible for female scientists to carve out their place in science.