Young people these days are more interested in improving the way they look than in developing their social skills. What do you think are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to solve/reduce it?

Nowadays, young people are far more likely to be fascinated more by enhancing their appearance that negatively affects their sociability. I will outline both the possible causes of and solutions to this problem. Initially, due to development of the Internet, people spend much more time communicating with each other online. This was aggravated by the fact that because of COVID-19, many began to spend even more time on gadgets. Consequently, people try to look more attractive on camera using makeup, filters, masks from apps which suggest users to improve the skin, correct facial features. People get used to the fact that they and the people on the other side of the screen look good. Therefore, they do not pay attention to more important factors. Another reason is that now the phrase "good clothes open all doors" has become more relevant than ever. This is facilitated by social networks, where famous people look flawlessly. It makes their fans strive for their style rather than their abilities and skills. Parents and relatives should explain to young people that the way they look should be pleasant and tidy. Adolescent should not blindly follow fashion, because it is much more vital to be able to contact people, find the right words to make new friends. Secondly, if a person is in a comfortable environment, then person forgets about how he/her looks. He/her interested in the process of learning, playing, chatting. So, more hobby clubs need to be created to allow everybody improve their communication skills. It is true that the ability to communicate among young people fades into the background, while their appearance becomes a paramount task. The main thing is that relatives and friends inform young people that appearance is not the main thing in their lives.