Young people spend less of their free time with their family nowadays. What are the reasons for this? Are there more negative or positive sides?

It has been seen recently that youngsters do not devote enough time with their family members. The main reasons are technology and social media. In my opinion, there is a negative side because it may have dangerous repercussions on individuals and their loved ones. To begin with, technology and several social sites are becoming a barrier between relationships as people spend half of their time browsing Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat. Because of social platforms masses are not fascinated by social interaction which makes them introvert. For example, the federation university revealed in the recent survey 85% of young people spend their leisure time on mobile phones rather than spending time with parents. Hence, there was increase in the psychology gap between family members and youngsters. Further, misunderstanding can badly influence a teenager’s mind. This is because when there is little or no interaction it will create doubts in the mind, as a result, the relationships become violent. Apart from this, by not investing time in family, young people will not be able to learn moral values such as cooperation, politeness, and sharing. Therefore, they cannot become a better person in society and feel isolated. To illustrate, the Time of India reported in a recent survey that 60% of men and women experienced relationship violence due to lack of interaction with family members. In conclusion, paying less attention to family members can lead to serious conflicts and it may harm the relationships. So, I believe that technology and social media is a boon to enhance knowledge which must be used wisely.