Young people prefer listening to music rather than listening to the news on the radio. Is this a positive or negative development?

Young people prefer listening to music rather than listening to the news on the radio. Is this a positive or negative development? It is true that some youths choose to listen to songs rather than listening to news on the wireless. Although I acknowledge a negative side of this trend, I believe that, overall, this is a positive development. With respect to the downside of listening to radio programs normally include both music and news. To be informed about the latest happenings around the world is a must since this could affect us in one way or another. Young people from different walks of life should embrace listening to the news as well as enjoying music when studying or relaxing as this should motivate young people to get involved with issues raised daily in the news. Apparently, other negatives exist as well, but I doubt that they are as significant as this one. As for the positives of the trend, first and foremost, being a music lover can also be beneficial. Listening to music can help one relax and can receive stress that can affect even the youngest minds. Music can cause relaxing stimuli that can encourage normal breathing patterns and assist in concentration. Furthermore, listening to calming melodies can also aid in batting depression, mostly in young adults for they can relate to song lyrics that can inspire them to win the battle of downheartedness. On the basis of points mentioned above, it can be concluded that adults prefer listening to music rather than listening to the news is a more positive development than negative. Due to the benefits it entails we can turn a blind eye to the only drawback of it. (261 words)