Young people nowadays prefer to have fewer children than previous generations. Most of them prefer to accomplish other goals in their life first. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is undeniable fact that the past generations were used to believe in having a multi-children family, whereas in the recent times, this trend has been changed as majority of married couples are inclined to have less children in comparison as the consequence of career-oriented mindset and lifestyle. If asked, I firmly believe in latter narrative. My preference is elaborated in the ensuing paragraphs. To begin with, it has been extremely challenging to bring up a greater number of children in today’s urban lifestyle. Galloping inflation, both the partners working, cost of education as well as health and other needs for children makes it impossible to cope up with a comfortable life. This deters many young couples to start a family or even think of more than one child. Furthermore, the literacy level among the young people is an additional aspect that has altered the perception towards family life. Today’s men and women are more profession oriented and they aspire to achieve career milestones along with other desires and dreams they have. For instance, young couples plan to travel extensively, live a trendy standard of living, wish to own a car or home – and this drive them to a decision to have the fewest number of children. Although, we must not overlook the aspect that a smaller number of children can create a remarkable fall in the proportion of workforce in the approaching years. This can retard the economy of a country. Moreover, the social life and its values would also be seriously affected. All in all, young couples these days opt to have fewer children and tend to achieve other goals in their lives. I believe the option of a small family can have multiple social, economical, environmental as well as financial benefits to the family as well as society and world too. People would be happier and satisfied.