Young people are more likely to be involved in car accidents, therefore the legal driving age should be raised to 22 years old.

Youths are more prone to mishaps when they are given the liberty to drive at the age of eighteen onwards. The legal age of driving in almost every country around the world is fixed at 18 years of age. It is argued that this age limit should be increased to twenty two years. This essay will discuss the key points why the legal age should be determined as twenty two years. When a teenager reaches the age of eighteen, it is considered as a milestone in his/her lifetime. This is because they will be considered as an adult by the world. Eighteen years is a vulnerable age where adolescents are transitioning into youth and they are not much experienced. Although, some adolescents have the right mindset some will have the intuitive mindset. They just wait for this age to get their driving license. Once on the road, their adrenaline gets pumped and sometimes lose control of the surroundings. Youths also like to drive the car, ignoring the speed limits. They like to challenge and break rules which end up in accidents most of the times endangering others lives. On raising the age limit to twenty two years, let's reciprocate that they will have acquired a sense of responsibility. They might start thinking about the welfare of others too. It is widely observed that youth at this age might have acquired some kind of control and would like to abide by the rules. The repugnant attitude changes to a concerned behaviour by this age due the experiences they might have encountered in life. For instance, in UAE the legal driving age was increased from eighteen years to twenty two years and it was analysed in 5 years that speeding and drunken driving accidents were reduced widely. To summarise, it is an undeniable fact that as humans age maturity and self-control is immensely acquired because of the life experiences they encounter. Therefore, increasing the legal driving age limit to twenty two years will always outweigh the merits and will not backfire.