Young adults and their squandering money habits

Nowadays, it’s common to see the young people squander their money on keeping up with the latest trend, purchasing high-priced items to post on Instagram, Facebook. . . etc or even enjoying a lot of luxurious vacations which cost a fortune. Moreover, it’s not rare to see some youngsters chasing an affluent lifestyle regardless of their bad financial conditions. There are some reasons for this wasting- money habits. Thanks to the development of society, young people are now living in a peaceful world full of convenience and wealth. They now do not have to suffer from the miserable life as their ancestors did. So their squandering habits are easily understandable. In addition, the YOLO lifestyle ( You Only Live Once) has become a popular trend recently. A lot of young people unconditionally pursue this lifestyle which supports the opinion “After all, if you live only in the now, you do not have to worry about the tough tasks of saving money, investing, or making critical financial decisions for your future. ” Finally, the Internet and social media are absolutely the biggest reason for this habit. The Internet and social media have exposed the youngsters to large amounts of images of desirable costly lifestyles. This reason provokes young people to express themselves with the aim of proving their ability to afford the same lifestyles. However, in the long run, squandering money habits can lead them to adverse consequences. Following the wasting money habits on brand new items or some costly trend can drive them to bankruptcy after they have lost control of spending money. When some unexpected things occur, such as an accident, not saving money is exactly a bad choice. Especially in this Covid-19 pandemic, there are a great number of people, mostly young people are unable to make ends meet and have to receive subsidies from the government. Besides, when young adults become parents, they will be aware of why they should not waste money. There will be a lot of responsibilities that the young have to face and only when they experience it will they have another perspective on this issue. Their outlook on this issue is quite difficult to change at this age due to their too big ego. But in the long run, they might acknowledge their squandering habits and change them.