You recently attended a forum organized by the District Health Department. At the forum, a health officer made the following statement: Today’s society still has a deep-rooted belief in traditional medicine and relies strongly on it. Write an essay expressing your opinion on the statement.

In this era of globalisation, in spite of anvancements in the medical field. Society still has a deep-rooted belief in traditional medicine. In fact, modern society still uses herbs to treat aliments. In my humble opinion, I strongly disagree that society should not rely on traditional medicine because the traditional medicine not hygienic and can leads to serious side effect and source are very limited. There are few reasons for this. Homely traditional medicine is not hygience, can cause serious side effects and very limited. First and foremost, traditional medicine are not hygienic. This mean that the methods, tools, equipment and herbs used will harm the patients which is use the traditional medicine. In addition, some tools are used repeatedly for many years to produce medicine. Herbs are collected, not processed properly and may still contain toxins. Modern medicine is safer as it is prepared with better equipment and tested regularly. For example, the equipment like acupuncture which is may not be sterile after used. Therefore, traditional medicine which is not hygienically prepared may cause serious side effects or even death. Secondly, traditional medicine can cause serious side effects. This is because they can cause kidney and liver damage and heart attacks. Some are adulterated with steroids, pesticides, antibiotic or harmful metals. For instance, herbs are source of very potent toxins which can also react harmfully with other drugs. Moreover, these herbs can interact negatively with prescribed medication. Thus, despite their healing properties taking wrong herbs may worsen your symptoms and cause other side effects. Finally, sources to produce traditional medicine are very limited. The main reason for this is because forests is one of the main sources for herbs, roots and certain animals. Furthermore, they disappearing due to deforestation. For example, jungles are cleared to give way for development. Certain herbs become extinct and it is difficult to find replacements with similar properties. The public is cheated by charlatans. Hence, limited sources to produce traditional medicine can give chances of buying fake products. In conclusion, medicine cannot always cure us, but it can reduce our symptoms. Beside that, traditional medicine is called 'traditional' for a reason because it is outdated. It is not as effective as modern medicine.