Writing task: Giving lectures in auditoriums to large numbers of students is an old way of teaching. With the technology available today, everything should be done online.

Some people feel that in this age of online lectures and computer programs, the traditional way of giving lectures in large classrooms has become old-fashioned / ineffective. I do not agree with this view. In my opinion, online lectures can be very convenient; however, traditional way of teaching is more effective and makes learning easier. On the one hand, many people choose to take online lectures because they are very convenient. Many people study while working to upgrade their educational qualifications to get a promotion at work. These online lectures and online courses will allow working people to watch the lectures during their free time. For instance, these lectures can be watched during the weekend and they also allow people to pause in the middle of the lecture and and watch later. Because of this flexibility and convenience online lectures are very popular among many people. Conversely, many students find the traditional way of teaching in classrooms more effective. Traditional lectures allow students to interact with lecturers when there is clarification required. To put it in another way, traditional lectures establish a connection between lecturers and students. For instance, a lecturer can tell at any point of time whether or not his students understand the lesson by simply looking at their faces and body language. Since online lectures are pre-recorded and delivered via the computer, this interaction between the teacher and the student is not possible. To conclude, it is evident that online lectures give people the freedom to learn at a time convenient to them whereas traditional lectures provide the opportunity to interact with the teacher and clear doubts. In my opinion, online lectures cannot completely replace the class room lectures because they fail to create an important human connection between lecturers and students.