Writing task 2 test 3 paper 13

Human civilisation has a long and strong historical foundation, and that cannot be ignored. For instance, the discovery or the invention of the wheel are significant landmarks in the human history. Many of today’s technological and scientific advancements are possible due to these discoveries and inventions. History does not only relate to these. It can also be categorised into many types – such as, political history, scientific history and human history, as stated above. Many of these are essential in our lives. Science and Technology are important for the advancement of the human race and civilisation. However, every idea needs a base to stand on before its execution. For example, if a scientist does not know about the makings of dynamite by Alfred Noble, they will not be able to apply its usefulness to their projects. They should also know the pros and cons of the object to safeguard its exploitation. However, the history of science and technology is still regarded as one of high importance. Some people argue about the significance of political and human history. Many would consider this insignificant nowadays. It is to be noted that knowing the history of mankind is essential for building a better future. For example, young people should learn about the Holocaust and the history of slavery in order to empathise with the past and help make a better future, where such discriminations are eradicated completely. Learning about the history of colonialism in the developing countries will help the young generation to act accordingly and fill in the gaps left by the colonisers. In conclusion, History as a subject should be taught alongside Science and Technology. While the latter mentioned subjects help us go forward, the former enables us to determine a yardstick for possible outcomes.