PIANO THE POTENTATE OF INSTRUMENTS

To be the most beautiful and versatile instrument, it had to go through many construction and development stages. In this magazine, we’ll give you a look at its noteworthy history. Back in the 14th - 15th centuries, there was an instrument that used to be played commonly in Europe, which is the hammered dulcimer. It’s a percussion-stringed instrument and its strings are stretched over a trapezoidal. Yet, the hammered dulcimer was quite heavy so it required both skill and strength to play it. So, people wanted a string instrument with a keyboard. Many innovations were created to accomplish that, but as a result, the clavichord and the harpsichord are the most known ones. In the late 1700s, Ferdinando de’ Medici, or The Grand Prince of Tuscany hired Bartolomeo Cristofori as his harpsichord manufacturer. Cristofori wanted to build an improved and more modernized instrument, so he started to investigate the shortcomings of the clavichord and the harpsichord. He noticed that the harpsichord didn’t allow the performer to control the dynamics. The clavichord sounded too delicate so it would often be overpowered by other instruments. Therefore, Cristofori came up with some solutions to solve those problems and took inspiration from the harpsichord and the clavichord to build his new instrument. He made the strings stuck with hammers so that it would create more variety in dynamics. Cristofori also decided that the hammer must hit the key but withdraw contact immediately afterward. It also allows the hammer to go back to its original position without springing intensely. This way the performer will be able to repeat a note quickly without obstructions or delays. Cristofori’s instrument remained anonymous until 1711 when an Italian writer Scipione Maffei wrote an article about it. People named it “pianoforte” or in Italian: “clavicembalo col piano e forte” meaning the harpsichord that can play normally and strongly. “Pianoforte” was later shortened to “Piano”. Piano production began to spread throughout Europe. Many people started to build pianos based on Cristofori’s blueprint for the instrument, some even added more functions. Besides, many awesome piano brands were also found and they can’t be ignored. C. Bechstein Pianos This brand was founded by Carl Bechstein in Germany back in 1853. Their pianos have the distinctive Bechstein tone: warm, hollow, and delicate, sing out beautifully. C. Bechstein pianos are impeccably made and have the highest reputation in Europe as well as the world. It costs around $42, 400 - $78, 000 for C. Bechstein Elegance 124 and around $70, 000 - $78, 000 for C. Bechstein Concert 8. Blünther Pianos In 1853, Julius Blünther started his piano factory in Leipzig, Germany. In 1936, he was selected to build the piano for the airship. Unfortunately, his factory was destroyed during World War II. Later in 1948, Dr. Rudolf Blüthner-Haessler rebuilt the company, and their piano production was finally resumed. Their pianos play a very warm, romantic and lyrical sound. They are also built of superb materials and are handmade! It costs around $63, 600 - $85, 700 for Blünther Model S and around $47, 700 - $63, 900 for Blünther Model B. Steingraeber & Söhne Pianos Was founded by a prestigious old German company in Bayreuth, Germany around 1852. Their pianos produce a unique sound, and an extensive tonal palette with a mix of clarity. It will be around $55, 800 - $85, 000 for the Steingraeber & Söhne 130T and around $44, 000 - $74, 000 for the Steingraeber & Söhne 122T. This brand thrives in producing incredible pianos with innovative designs, and for this reason, it is undoubtedly one of the most recognized piano brands in the world today.