Writing task 2 in Uzbekistan — 22.12.2020 Some people think that cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe that this is the only way to save such traditions in the world today. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, tourism is considered as a boon for a country’s economy. It plays a pivotal role in a country’s economy since it is considered the largest employer and generator of foreign exchange for many countries. It is often argued that cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making tourist attractions, whilst others disagree and think that it is the only method to save such traditions in the world today. This essay will discuss both points of view and why I agree that tourism is the way to save the cultural traditions we have today. It is clear that interactions with the tourism industry will have direct and indirect effects on host communities. Demand for heritage tourism has incentivize the expansion of heritage tourism activities. It is therefore agreed that these cultural and heritage sites might suffer from a loss of local identity due to influences brought in by tourists. This is because commercialization of local culture for tourism can turn local culture into commodities. For example, cultural erosion may occur when religious traditions, local customs and festivals are reduced and reconstructed to conform to meet tourist expectations. However, many disagree and feel that tourism brings benefits to host communities and is a means of saving the cultural traditions we have. This is due to the fact that tourism can utilize and harness the demand for heritage tourism for cultural conservation. Through tourism-related activities, funds are generated to care for and maintain these cultural sites and practices. For example, monuments being made into an attraction not only stimulates pride in one’s history and stimulates respect and understanding of other cultures, but also generate funds for site maintenance. In conclusion, in my opinion, tourism through cultural attractions is an important means for countries to care for and maintain their heritage and cultural practices. While there may be disadvantages to monetizing these cultural traditions, as long as we are mindful and keep in mind the importance of achieving a sustainable heritage tourism, the benefits of cultural attractions are clearly.