Writing Task 2 Free Write

Aging society is one of the pressing issues in many countries are facing. As the number of the older population rises, more elders consider living in a nursing home where they can be taken care of by nurses and professional workers. Traditionally, family are responsible for this payment but in my opinion, government should also contribute to this payment as it is part of the country's welfare. Choosing to live in a nursing home is a decision made by both the elder and the family. However, it is important to acknowledge that the fee paid to the nursing home significantly affects this decision. In order to ensure that each family can consider their options freely, government needs to control the price of living in a nursing home and standardizing the quality and payment of each nursing home. Another point worth noting is that government should also invest in building and improving nursing homes so that elder citizens have can choose to live in a nursing home without any financial preoccupation. On the other hand, monthly subsidies can be paid directly to families with elders as part of the social welfare to help look after retired senior citizens. In Thailand, many families encourage grandparents to live together as a compound family in one house because they cannot afford the cost of a nursing home. Despite the lower cost paid when living together instead of going to nursing homes, the elders may not be able to receive the needed care and supervision in time at home. The issue can be resolved if government pay monthly subsidies to families and help lower the cost of living in a nursing home. In conclusion, going to live in a nursing home is a choice voluntary made by elders and their family. Nevertheless, in order to ensure the equal access to considering this choice, the cost of living in a nursing home should not be a burden to the elders or their family. Government should invest in subsidies for senior citizens as well as help maintain the quality and control fee of the nursing homes.