Writing task 2, films in mobiles vs cinema theatre

Films have always been and still are the stuff of fantasy while a cinema theatre has been the stage for experiencing its magic. In today's time, however, this 'stage' seems to have taken different forms. Some think that one need not go to a cinema to enjoy a movie as we can watch it on our digital devices while others beg to differ and still hold the magical experience of a cinema theatre close to their hearts. In this essay, we will look at both points of view and derive our opinion. Let us first look at the uniqueness of a cinema theatre. It is essentially a building that is equipped in every way to provide an exclusive and unique experience that attempts to tingle one's senses and focus one's attention for a few hours at a screen. Such is the isolation that the audience is wrapped in the sights and sounds of the film and is able to disconnect from the outside world and live a dream along with the protagonist. It is akin to experiencing serenity for a few magical hours amid the chaos of life. On the other side, one must consider one important aspect of the group that prefers to view films on their mobile devices. These are usually young professionals who have limited time to spend and are usually on the go. For such a group, the gratification they derive from watching a film is not very different from that of going to a cinema. Furthermore, there are several on-line entertainment streaming services with a range of films on offer for a fraction of the cost of going to the theatre. It is no surprise that the younger generation happens to naturally gravitate to their mobile devices. To sum up, while it is clear that a cinema offers an isolated atmosphere to experience a film, it demands a higher cost in terms of time and money. Watching films on mobile devices, on the other hand, are cheaper owing to streaming services and tend to gratify the need to be entertained on the go. My opinion sides with watching a film in a cinema as the experience of isolation from the outside world is important to truly enjoy a movie in all its glory and that, to me, is worth the few hours and money as compared to a mobile device in a crowded bus.