WRITING TASK 2 You should spend 40 minutes on this task. Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that science subjects are becoming less preferred, whilst there is a rising popularity of computer-based modules among students. From my perspective, this evident phenomenon is advantageous to learners and I will discuss some reasons justifying for the trend. It is undeniable that the preference provides students with a variety of benefits. With advancement in technology, requirement is that employees are capable of handling computer systems. As the matter of fact, many companies and organizations are operated mainly by computer technology and computer-based modules can provide essential knowledge to meet employers’ demands. Moreover, advanced technologies provided in classrooms can help to enhance not only student’s comprehension but also their creativity. To illustrate the case, surveys carried out in Chulalongkorn University have shown an increase in both productivity and academic performance among students taking up computer classes. One of the principle reason for this tendency is that science subjects are regared as boring and rather impractical, failing to catch student’s interest. Knowledge obtained from science classes is theoretical and inapplicable in real life, therefore computer-based modules are arousing learner’s attention. Another justification is that computer sciences are considered as facilitators for student’s career path. With preference to the promotion of the IT industry, students are nudged towards being more engaged with computer science in order to meet prospective employers. Many leading enterprises are seeking employees expertising in technology and Vingroup is a prime example for the case. In conclusion, there is a tendency of students opting for computer modules instead of science classes in school and university. It is my firm conviction that the phenomenon is beneficial to both students and the society for some apparent reasons.