Writing about our experience for following up the competition.

Search for Meaning Fajar Julian Santosa (Indonesia: Age 23 years) “Living life with not being yourself is not easy. However, from there I found the meaning of life. ” Five years ago, was the news of my graduation from high school in my city, Indonesia. It’s time for me to take it to the next level. I tried to apply to several campuses with majors that really my favorite, but it’s failed. In the end, I was able to pass the selection but got into a major in which I was not my favorite. At that time, my father advised, "You run this first, who knows this is your sustenance. If for example, you cannot stand it, you can take part in the selection again next year". I tried to live it half-heartedly, pursuing studies that really were not my thing. I like to live life by not being myself. I don’t want to keep thinking about it, always disappointed. In this department, I feel I have more free time. I started to fill my spare time by participating in several activities on campus, and more participating in scientific forums. I find this an interesting thing, doing research, writing articles, and publishing them at scientific conferences. From then on, I tried to do my first research in a team. Unexpectedly, I was able to present it in a scientific forum and got the best paper winner. I became more and more interested in the world of research. In fact, I hope to become a researcher with the title of professor. Things that have never been thought of before. From the research, it turns out to be able to take me around my country, and I can feel the first time I boarded a plane. Really, it was beautiful at the time. I also had time to visit countries in Asia such as Malaysia, South Korea, Macau, Singapore, and Taiwan to participate in scientific forums held in those countries. Not only that but I was also chosen to be an outstanding student on campus. Things that I do not necessarily get if I used to enter the majors that I am very interested in. I tried to reflections about this. Was there something wrong with me before? Why can't I achieve my wish? Why can I achieve everything here, right now? Through these reflections, I concluded that all this time God was testing me, was directing me. If I can achieve what I want, maybe I am not here to achieve everything here. "God did not give me what I hoped for, but more than that. God is giving what is best for me. " Sorry, realized it too late. Many other things happened to me until I fell and was able to get back up. I always try to take meaning from an event in my life. With this too, I became a human who has a more definite purpose in life. I gained knowledge so that I can live happily and smile every day. I keep myself always grateful. Grateful for whatever happens in my life and whatever I am getting, even if it’s just a little. There is a story 'Jerry Long' from a book I once read, composed by Viktor F. Frankl. Jerry Long was diagnosed by doctors with paralysis from the neck down due to an accident at the age of 17 years. Currently, Long can use a mouth stick to type. He spends his time reading, writing, and watching television. One of his writings that touched me: "I view my life as full of meaning and purpose. I may break my neck, but it will not break my life. I believe that the physical disability I have will increase my ability to help others. Without suffering, I wouldn’t be able to thrive. " Reflection, especially for myself to always be grateful and excited in undergoing life's tests. So, if I were to ask, what does life mean to you? I’ll answer with the best conclusion. My life must have meaning, both for myself and those around me. And those meanings are what I’m looking for in every journey of my life. And the best way to make sense of life is to always be grateful, no matter what.