writhe an essay about modern art

When we talk about “Modern Art” we refer to the artistic period which dates back around the 1860s, thanks to great and well-known artists such as Van Gogh and Picasso. Their main aim was to rebel from academics standards, to go off the grid and to subvert the rules. For this reason, they used unconventional materials and techniques, such as collages, or the notorious “ready-made”, by Duchamp, visible in his most memorable piece of art, “Fountain”, that is nothing other than an upside-down urinal. In addition, these artists would depict unusual subjects. As a matter of fact, art used to be all about religion and mythology before, but in those years (1860s-1970s), artists started representing common life objects and places, and even with nature, as Van Gogh did, with his “Sunflowers”. This happened even in some of the most traditional and rigorous countries in the field of art. For example, in Italy, that had always been a cultural pole and the place where the first Academies were created. Here, the movement of Modern Art was followed by many, such as Modigliani, De Chirico and Fontana. One of their greatest merits was the subjectiveness they would put in every of their works. In fact, they represented the world seen from their points of view. The most evident example is undoubtedly the Surrealism movement, with famous artists such as Salvador Dalì. In my personal experience, I’ve been to several art museums, some Modern Art Museums, such as the MoMA in New York City, others with Renaissance art, others with pieces of classical art, like the many found in my hometown. For this reason I regard “Modern Art” not to be one of the most beautiful forms of art; some artworks are indeed really easy to make. Nevertheless, it certainly revolutionised the way to make art with its innovations, particular techniques and peculiar subjects, giving also a great contribution to the society of that time.