Some people think rules should be fixed for crime but some people think that the punishment should be given accordingly. Do agree or disagree

In many countries the leaders have set different rules and regulations which might be fair for some people and might not be for some whether it's a crime, theft, violence or any other circumstances. In this statement from my point of view, the action is to be taken by the judges before the punishment. The reason I state this is because every human is different and has their own objective which we might not be able to see. We agree that a person has no right to perform a crime. There must be some insane people who have developed this as their hobby whereas some people have their genuine reason for it. Maybe because of some past incident or revenge. The punishment should be planned accordingly to their crime and reasons. For example- A man has ruined a woman’s life by spreading false rumors about her just for fun. That woman got so furious and decided to take revenge on that same person. She discussed some revenge points with her close friends and lawyer. But after a few days that man was murdered. Who murdered him? Now we all know that the woman wanted to take revenge and definitely it has stated that she has murdered him. Without any proper investigation that woman has been charged with the death penalty. However, the case is not true here. When the woman went to the man’s house to collect some evidence, she was caught by the same man. They started having a physical fight and the woman was about to die by choking her neck. Somehow she saved herself by hitting that man on his head with the hard object. Unfortunately he died instantly. She was shocked and took that man to the hospital who was declared dead. This was the real story. I think she should have been punished according to her circumstances and motivation for committing. In conclusion, the criminal should not be judged by its cover. Rather investigate and listen to their story. But many criminals take this as an advantage to protect themselves.