write the correct form of the word given in brackets in the corresponding numbered boxes.

At the close of the second century AD, manned horses used in warfare had become a fighting force to be truly reckoned with. Although the Romans themselves showed little prowess as horsemen, cavalry accounted for almost one fifth of the forces that became embroiled in battle. Due to the ROman's experience in this type of fighting, it was left to their allies and the civilians of their colonies to defend forces. Although there were instances of mixed infantry and cavalry, most cohorts consisted sole of mounted archers. These highly skilled bowmen were adept at presenting a deadly screen behhind which the infantry could assemble into form in preparation for attack. The most famous of these equestrian devide was the regiment of North Africa. Until the end of the fourth century, little equipment was used by the cavalry. There are historical accounts which write of four-pronged saddles being utility and the existence of bits and spurs. It was at the dawn of the fifth century that, for the first time in history, the saddle was used in combination with stirrups. Some contemporary military tactic cite this innovative coupling as one so significant in regard to warfare that it went surpass until the invention of the modern-day tank.