Write on food wastage and solution to it

In recent years, the problems attributed to food wastage are getting more attention from specialised agencies across the globe. More than ever, people are disposing of food. This essay believes one of the major reasons for this is the inadequate storage of food products and suggest exposing individuals to the best storage methods as a solution. The principal reason for food wastage is wrong or inadequate storage of food items. Foodstuffs are rarely kept in the appropriate storage facilities, consequently many food items turn bad. This is not only detrimental to food security in the short term but also sustainable development in the long. For example, the Food and Agricultural Organisation report in 2013, indicated that third world countries lost over 45% of dairy products, fruits and vegetables due to lack of adequate storage facilities like the refrigerator and electricity to power them. Therefore, food spoilage is mainly a result of poor storage conditions. Given the highlighted problem, a solution would be the provision of storage facilities and the orientation of individuals on suitable conditions for the storage of food items. Some food items are stored in dry and humid conditions, others are stored at sub-zero temperature, hence it is paramount to know the correct method of storage to prevent wastage. For instance, potatoes are best kept in a cool, dry cupboard which helps prolong the shelf life and result in a better taste. The knowledge of the correct approach to storing food is essential to reducing and eventually eliminating food wastage. To sum up, one of the main reasons for food wastage is wrong and inadequate storage of food items. This problem can be mitigated through the provision of storage facilities by the relevant authorities and by educating individuals on best storage practices.