Write an outline and an essay comparing and/or contrasting a traditional family and modern family

Family patterns are changing in modern life. That is evident in several aspects leading to the dissimilarities between traditional families and modern families. There are several differences, which are the structure of family, generation gap, and responsibility of each member in family. The first notable difference is the structure of family. Extended families are bigger than nuclear families. Traditional families include more than two generations living together. This means that if you live in a traditional family, you will live in a big house with your grandparents or your relatives. On the contrary, nuclear families seem to be simple when including two generations living together. This is parents and their children. The size of family is the main difference seen easily in two family patterns. Contrasting both traditional families and modern ones, we also consider the generation gap. Due to generation gap, viewpoints between extended families and nuclear ones are distinctive. Most of the elderly in traditional families have conservative beliefs about things like hairstyle, job, and so on. For example, some old people think that the girl or the woman ought to get a job in a state-owned organization after university to spend time taking care of their children and doing the housework. However, in nuclear families, parents tend to let their children make their decisions about their appearance or job. Besides, parents just give advice, but they never try to impose their decisions on children. Furthermore, the responsibility of each member in family might be the differences between traditional families and modern families. In extended families, we usually hear that “Men build house and women make it home”. It means that a husband is a person earning money for a living whereas a wife is a person looking after children and doing all household chores. However, this has changed in modern society. In nuclear families, each member has to the duty with their families, and the status of each member is equal. Therefore, all parents can bring home the bacon, do the housework, and also take the children. In conclusion, the differences between extended families and nuclear families are inevitable when they have plenty of dissimilar points in size of the family, distance among generations, and the duty of each member in family.